

## The Vera Shaganash Seven Sacred Teachings Award

Anishinabek Employment and Training Services (AETS) is pleased to offer The Vera Shaganash Seven Sacred Teachings Award.

Inspired by the memory of Elder Vera Shaganash of, Netmizaaggamig Nishnaabeg who was an active member of the AETS Elders in Residence Program from 2018 to 2019 prior to her passing on November 11, 2019, in White River, ON. Vera saw the potential in our youth and felt the importance of recognizing and acknowledging their good efforts.

This award recognizes Youth aged 15-29 from the AETS member communities who in the past year have demonstrated the Seven Sacred Teachings in whole or in part (Love, Honesty, Truth, Courage, Wisdom, Humility and/or Respect). Through their actions, nominees are improving the quality of life or well-being

of others. The award is honorary and recognizes Youth with a certificate and a plaque.

## ELIGIBLE AWARD NOMINEES ARE:

- Youth aged 15-29 as a single recipient or group. (Under exceptional circumstances youth under 15 years of age may be considered).
- Citizens or affiliates of the AETS communities.
- Addressing the health, social and/or economic challenges, improving the quality of life or wellbeing of others.
- Demonstrating the Seven Sacred Teachings in whole or in part through their actions.

Nominees are assessed according to clear evidence that the nominee has excelled in demonstrating one or a combination of the Seven Sacred Teachings, and that their actions have contributed to either of the following: addressing health, social and/or economic challenges, and/or improving the quality of life or well being in their community. For more details on how to nominate an award recipient, please visit <u>www.aets.org</u>/seven-sacred-teachings-award

## 2024 NOMINATION DEADLINE: August 31, 2024

Please send nominations to: Anishinabek Employment & Training Services C/O: Lorraine Keough 285 Red River Rd. Thunder Bay, ON, P7B 1A9 Or Email: Lorraine.keough@aets.org Tel: 807-346-0307 or 866-870-2387

\*Only 1 Youth (or group) will be selected annually per AETS First Nation community.

